The Mirage(s) series was born out of my desire to express the feeling of wonder. When an image breaks in and, by a miracle, because you are sensitive at this moment, because you are a poet, because you are an aesthetic, it has amazed.

This is your inner eye that sees the image as an icon. How can one testify as closely as possible to this feeling?

Since the entrant is an image, since it is a place and a moment, why not the photography to capture this moment? But capturing the outer surface is not enough. Skin of the bear without the beating heart. The soul seems to have disappeared. It is only the appearance; what about the magic?


My first compositions

So it was out of concern for realism, to testify as close as possible to this presence that I began to compose my images.

 



 



7 Montparnasse - Lamarcelle (2010)


Brûlerie de l'apprenti - Lamarcelle (2009)


 


 

With more complexity in terms of emotion, my compositions went closer to the feeling I wanted to account for. I then explored the effect produced by multiplication.

A first axis of symmetry

By duplicating a source image by symmetry on one of its sides I reconstituted a continuous form with two faces, accompanied by the artifice at once wonderful and disturbing of perfect equality, touched by an unreal light coming from both sides.

It is a path that I borrowed for a whole series of works which constituted a first coherent whole exposed under the name of Poèmes / plastic.

 

 

 

 

 


Noir oiselle
- Lamarcelle (2010)

 

 



Whatever my interventions on the image, be it accumulation, change of scale or duplication, my work kept this in common with figurative photography: it is its natural orientation, with a high and a bottom, that is symbolically a ground and a sky.

It is precisely this classical orientation which was the last barrier to be raised in order to attain the goal I had set for myself.

Mirage !

One day I was busy around the African basket hanging in front of my window because the sunlight seemed to set fire to it. The curtain was almost glowing while the blades of this Malian wicker were heavily darkened by the backlight.

I knew that a detail could speak louder than a set. I put in the closest: the sun, the color and a few black lines. What a time of development!

It is probably because this photograph was relatively abstract that I was able to free myself from the usual orientation. The sun was not placed at the top but behind. He was not the star that appeared in the sky, it was a light. The object was no longer anything but form and color. Thus the compositional play was naturally released. It was no longer a matter of representing anything but expressing something, or even simply composing a form, like a child playing the puzzle.


A second axis of symmetry

After having made a first symmetry on the vertical axis as I was used to, I did not want anything else, I did not wish other forms than those I had under the eyes. But I had the need to extend its surface. It was then that I realized a second symmetry, on the horizontal axis this time. My puzzle was over. Mirage!

 

 

 




 


Vitraux à Bamako
- Lamarcelle (2010)





Through this work I seemed to have summoned all the African statuary. And if it was not exactly what my eyes had seen through the basket, it was indeed what my whole being had contemplated.

For the first time I really produced an image that had the exact power of my feeling of wonder.

In revealing the soul that surrounded this still-life I had not only shown the spirit of the basket, but I had also discovered a structure of composition proper to my quest. Then I proposed to myself a systematic approach with which it would be possible to track the events when things had this kind of magic.

About subjects, no a priori come to orient my choices. I do not decide in advance what is wonderful and what is not. No method or place to optain wonders, but simply live in the environment while waiting that the miracle happens again, knowing that I now have a means of capture.


Cedric Lamarcelle - atelier @ lamarcelle.fr

La série Mirage(s) est née de mon désir d'exprimer le sentiment d'émerveillement : l
orsqu'une image fait irruption et que par miracle, parce que vous êtes sensible à cet instant, parce que vous êtes poète, parce que vous êtes esthète, il a émerveillement.

C'est votre intimité qui réalise cette alchimie qui transmue l'apparence en apparition.

Comment témoigner au plus près de ce sentiment ?

Puisque l'entrant est une image, pourquoi pas la photographie pour capter cet instant ?

Mais capturer la surface extérieure ne suffit pas. C'est la peau de l'ours privée du coeur battant. L'âme semble avoir disparu. C
'est seulement l'apparence ; quid de l'apparition ?


Premières compositions

Ainsi c'est par souci de réalisme, pour témoigner au plus près de cette présence émerveillante que je me suis mis à composer mes images.

 



 



7 Montparnasse - Lamarcelle (2010)


Brûlerie de l'apprenti - Lamarcelle (2009)


 


 

 

Gagnant en complexité sur le plan de l'émotion, mes compositions se rapprochaient du sentiment dont je voulais rendre compte. J'explorai alors l'effet produit par la multiplication.

Un premier axe de symétrie

En dupliquant une image source par symétrie sur l'un de ses côtés on peut fabriquer aisément une forme à deux faces, assortie de l'artifice à la fois merveilleux et inquiétant d'une égalité parfaite, baignée d'une lumière irréelle venant des deux côtés.

C'est un chemin que j'ai emprunté pour toute une série d'oeuvres exposée sous le nom de Poèmes / plastic.

 

 

 

 

 


Noir oiselle
- Lamarcelle (2010)

 

 


 

Quelles que soient mes interventions sur l'image, qu'il s'agisse d'accumulation, de changement d'échelle ou de duplication, mon travail gardait ceci de commun avec la photographie figurative : c'est son orientation naturelle, avec un haut et un bas, c'est à dire symboliquement un sol et un ciel.

Or c'est précisément cette orientation classique qui était la dernière barrière à lever pour atteindre au but que je m'étais fixé.

Mirage(s)

Un jour je m'affairai autour du panier africain accroché devant ma fenêtre parce que le soleil semblait y mettre le feu. Le rideau était embrasé tandis que les lames de cet osier malien étaient fortement assombries par le contre-jour.

Je sais qu'un détail peut parler plus fort qu'un ensemble. Je cadrai au plus prêt : le soleil, la couleur et quelques lignes noires. Que vienne l'heure du développement...

C'est sans doute parce que cette photographie était relativement abstraite que j'ai pu m'affranchir de l'orientation habituelle. Le soleil n'était pas placé en haut mais derrière. Il n'était pas l'astre qui apparaît dans le ciel, c'était une lumière. L'objet n'était plus que forme et couleur. Ainsi le jeu de composition s'est trouvé naturellement libéré. Il ne s'agissait plus de représenter quoi que ce soit mais d'exprimer quelque chose, voire même tout simplement de composer une forme, comme un enfant jouant au puzzle.


Un deuxième axe de symétrie

Après avoir réalisé une première symétrie sur l'axe vertical comme j'en avais l'habitude, je n'ai pas eu envie d'autre chose, je n'ai pas souhaité d'autres formes que celles que j'avais sous les yeux. Mais j'avais le besoin d'en étendre la surface. C'est alors que j'ai réalisé une deuxième symétrie, sur l'axe horizontal cette fois. Mon puzzle était terminé. Mirage !

 

 

 




 

Vitraux à Bamako - Lamarcelle (2010)



 



A travers cette oeuvre il me semblait avoir convoqué toute la statuaire africaine. Et si ce n'était pas exactement ce que mes yeux seuls avaient vu à travers le panier, c'était bel et bien ce que mon être avait contemplé, cela en avait la puissance exacte.

Pour la première fois j'avais produit une image faisant véritablement écho à mon émerveillement.

En révélant l'âme de cette nature morte j'avais non seulement convoqué l'esprit des paniers cher à Levy-Strauss, mais j'avais aussi découvert une structure de composition propre à ma quête.

A partir de ce moment je n'ai cessé d'emprunter cette voie chaque fois que le miracle a bien voulu se reproduire, développant un système à travers lequel il m'a été possible de traduire les zones d'émerveillement qui sont les miennes.


Cedric Lamarcelle - atelier @ lamarcelle.fr